Ragland Award

James M. Ragland Memorial Ashland "Volunteer Spirit" Community Service Award

In memory of James M. Ragland, 
Citizen of Ashland, City Council President
Planning Commissioner, community visionary, 
whose dedication and volunteerism was a major influence 
on the order and beauty that is Ashland today. 

Established by the Mayor and City Council on Tuesday, April 19, 1994


The open application period to nominate someone for the 2024 Award has closed. Thank you to those who took the time to nominate someone who is doing good things in the community! "We are better together!" 

In an effort to recognize the contribution of public sector volunteers, the Mayor and City Council present the annual community service award in memory of James M. Ragland. Through Jim's involvement in numerous public sector volunteer efforts, he contributed significantly to the physical and social fabric of the community that we enjoy today.
Criteria is based on public sector volunteer services performed, length of service, absence of adequate recognition in the past, and any other attributes the nominee may have that should be considered. Consideration is also given to people who volunteer hours beyond their regular work day to perform a service that benefits the community. 

Past recipients of the Ragland Award:

1994 - Frank D'Entremont
1995 - Donna Daniels
1996 - Barbara Jarvis/Terry Skibby
1997 - All the citizens of Ashland (in recognition of the countless volunteers who
helped during the flood)
1998 - Marty Bryant
1999 - Jim Lewis
2000 - Midge Thierolf
2001 - Hal Cloer
2002 - Bill Modesitt
2003 - Sue Graham
2004 - Pete Belcastro
2005 - Pamela Joy
2006 - Melissa Mitchell Hooge
2007 - Ashland City Band
2008 - Amy Amrhein
2009 - Ashland Woodlands and Trails Assoc.
2010 - Ashland Food Project
2011 - Steve Hauck
2012 - Joan Spear
2013 - Roberta Stebbins
2014 - Doug Gentry
2015 - Charlotte Dorsey, Alice Nagel and Tom Foster
2016 - Soroptimist International of Ashland
2017 - Marilyn "Lyn" Levin
2018 - Jason and Vanessa Houk
2019 - Risa Buck
2020 - Sandy Theis
2021 - Paul Collins
2022 - Michael S. Hersh (Memorial) 
2023 - Ashland Folk Dance Leaders - Art Clemons, Ron Waitt, Jan Waitt, Venita Varga 

Online City Services

Pay your bill & more 
Connect to
Ashland Fiber Network
Request Conservation
Proposals, Bids
& Notifications
Request Building
Building Permit
Apply for Other
Permits & Licenses
Register for
Recreation Programs

©2024 City of Ashland, OR | Site Handcrafted in Ashland, Oregon by Project A




twitter facebook Email Share
back to top