Conservation Commission

The Conservation Commission consists of nine voting members including one representative each from the solid waste franchisee for the city, Souther Oregon University, and the Ashland School District, and six other voting members (of which five must reside within the city).  The Commission also consists of non-voting ex-officio members including the Mayor or one Council member serving as Council liaison, the Department of Community Development Director, the electric Utility Director, the Director of Public Works, the Building Official, and the City Administrator.  The Electric Utility Director serves as the primary staff Liaison and Secretary of the Commission.

The powers, duties and responsibilities of the Commission are to educate and advocate for the wise and efficient use of resources by the City of Ashland and Ashland citizens.
The Commission recommends to the City Council the adoption of policies, implementation strategies and funding related to: 
  • Recycling, source reduction and solid waste/landfill issues;
  • Electric conservation issues;
  • Water conservation issues;
  • Resource conservation issues;
  • New power resource decisions, but not decisions involving wholesale power contracts;
  • Renewable Resource decisions;
  • Education of citizens about resource efficiency issues

Click here to view Conservation Commission agendas, minutes & activities

Online City Services

Pay Your Utility Bill
Connect to
Ashland Fiber Network
Request Conservation
Proposals, Bids
& Notifications
Request Building
Building Permit
Apply for Other
Permits & Licenses
Register for
Recreation Programs

©2023 City of Ashland, OR | Site Handcrafted in Ashland, Oregon by Project A




twitter facebook Email Share
back to top