Located on Grant Street at the north end of town, Hargadine Cemetery is nestled on a hillside overlooking the Rogue Valley.
The first recorded burials in Hargadine cemetery occurred on October 8, 1867, when Robert and Martha Hargadine buried their one-year-old daughter Katie, and on December 21, 1867, when Allen and Sarah Farham buried their young son nearby. In 1868, James Haworth, who owned the property on which the graves were located, deeded one and one-half acres of land to Farham and Hargadine in trust for use as a cemetery. W.C. Myer, long time area rancher, bought Haworth’s property including the graveyard in 1879.
In 1898, the Hargadine Cemetery Association, formed by descendants of early Ashland settlers, took over management of the burial ground. The Association, with sexton Eugene Walrad overseeing much of the work, initiated many improvements, including road, walkway and landscaping projects. In 1928, after Ashland voters approved financial support for care of local burial grounds, the Hargadine Cemetery Association voted to turn control of the graveyard over to the city. Due to shortages caused by the Depression, however, municipal leaders declined to accept responsibility for a third cemetery.
After World War II, with membership in decline and funds depleted, the Hargadine Association’s activities gradually ceased. In January 1968, a remaining member deposited the group’s fund in the cemetery trust fund, marking them for use in Hargadine Cemetery. With the exception of a few graves receiving privately funded perpetual care, Hargadine Cemetery received little attention over the years. The City of Ashland finally acquired title to the cemetery by act of the Oregon Legislature in 1989.
Hargadine Cemetery contains the graves of Ashland’s pioneer citizens including those of Robert and Martha Hargadine, W.C. and Elizabeth Myer and John P. Walker.
In 1998, in recognition of its historic significance and broad array of marker designs, Hargadine Cemetery was listed in the National Register of Historic Places and is also listed with the Oregon Commission on Historical Cemeteries.